Why am I here?

Okay, what am I doing here?  I am settled in for the night in this “college dorm” and my mantra is that of the cowardly lion in the Wizard of Oz whenever he is scared:  “Oh please, oh please, oh please……”  Oh please don’t let my roommate show up.  I can’t bear to be in this room with another human being.  The room is so small.  And it has a funny smell.  I opened the window hoping that by morning it will dissapate.

I really have a nerve, though.  I mean, I didn’t pay a dime to get here’ other than the bus fare from the airport.  So who am I to complain about my meager accommodations.  I really have to work on my sense of entitlement.

But look at the bathroom! at the shower! (will post the pictures later).  I wish I had a bucket.  I would fill it with water and bring it to my closet and wash up.  The more I think about it – I think washing up will be the only thing I am doing.  Will probably have to get up early – about 5 -6 to wash.

Anyway, back to the reason I am here.  I am here because I am living with the HIV virus, and I want to hear about the church’s response and role in this pandemic.  I want to know what is going on with the government & pharmaceutical companies in respect to providing those in other countries that are not able to afford the medication that will prolong their lives.  I want to learn skills that will help me to empower not only myself, but my commumity (locally and globally), and I am here to network.  I want to see what 20,000 people look like.  I want to see Bill Clinton 🙂

I have already met some people from Europe who have flown 39 hours to get here.  People are pouring in.  I am glad that I got here a day early.  I will beat the crowd as they swarm in tomorrow.

The planning of this thing by the ELCA is very disorganized.  I have no idea what is going to happen on the 10th & 11th (the day of the workshop), and how I am going to be a chaplain as well. 

I took a walk into Chinatown, which is not too far from the university.  There seems to be a lot of Asians in this area.  I haven’t seen that many blacks.  The taxi driver told me they are in another part to town (isn’t that usually the case).  While I am usually very adventurous, I doubt whether I will be taking a stroll down there, not by myself anyway.  Then again, maybe I will.  I am curious as to how we are living around here.

Well, I am exhausted.  Exhausted enough to fall asleep – and so that is exactly what I am going to do.  With the light on, and on top of the covers.

2 responses to “Why am I here?

  1. you better hope that if your roommate does show up- she believes in showering.

  2. Well Beth… it’s not only believing in showering. If I understood well it’s also about washing your feet when you have left the shower. LOL!

Leave a Reply

